Home Sport Blitzboks on a mission

Blitzboks on a mission


Cape Town Sevens back to rock Mother City, and the hosts want the title this time round.

Captains of the 16 national teams that will be participating in the World Rugby Sevens at the DHL Cape Town Stadium pose for a photograph at the Maidens Cove in Clifton. Picture: Phando Jikelo, African News Agency (ANA)

THE CAPE Town Sevens is back in the Mother City on Friday after a two-year break because of Covid-19.

With the 2020 and 2021 tournaments cancelled because of the pandemic, South Africans will be flocking to Cape Town Stadium in their hordes for a massive party and to egg on their team who last one the event back in 2015.

The Cape Town Sevens will be the 22nd South African leg of the series, with the first tournament being staged at the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch back in 1999, before it moved to Kings Park in Durban for two years.

From there, the tournament was staged at Outeniqua Park in George for nine years and then stopped at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium for four years before heading to the Cape.

Of the 22 tournaments, South Africa have won four trophies, with New Zealand being the most successful team in SA with 11 wins.

Blitzboks assistant coach Phillip Snyman said earlier in the week: “We really want to win this, it has been too long.”

To break that drought, the Blitzboks will have to continue where they left off when they won last weekend’s Dubai tournament to claim top spot on the log after two rounds.

They have to hit the ground running when they close out the day on Friday at 8.03pm in their first Pool A encounter against Canada.

Captain Shakes Soyizwapi and his teammates then tackle Fiji in a mouthwatering clash at 11.19am on Saturday, before rounding off their pool action against France at 5pm.

With the tournament’s final taking place at 7.56pm, South Africa will be firmly behind their manne to bring home the bacon.


Pool A: South Africa, Canada, Fiji and France

Pool B: Ireland, Japan, Samoa and Uruguay

Pool C: Argentina, Kenya, New Zealand and Spain

Pool D: Australia, Great Britain, Uganda and USA


Friday: Argentina vs Kenya (2.22pm), New Zealand vs Spain (2.44pm), Samoa vs Uruguay (3.06pm), Ireland vs Japan (3.28pm), Australia vs Great Britain (3.50pm), USA vs Uganda (4.12pm), France vs Fiji (7.35pm), Blitzboks vs Canada (8.03pm).

Saturday: Argentina vs Spain (8.45am), New Zealand vs Kenya (9.07am), Ireland vs Uruguay (9.51am), Australia vs Uganda (10.13am), USA vs Great Britain (10.35pm), France vs Canada (10.57am), Blitzboks vs Fiji (11.19am), Kenya vs Spain (2.26pm), New Zealand vs Argentina (2.48pm), Uruguay vs Japan (3.10pm), Ireland vs Samoa (3.32pm), Great Britain vs Uganda (3.54pm), USA vs Australia (4.16pm), Fiji vs Canada (4.38pm), Blitzboks vs France (5pm).


Friday: SA vs Australia (1.50pm), SA vs Ireland (6.37pm)

Saturday: SA vs Spain (1.25pm)

Previous articleCommunity questions shopping complex delays
Next articleWorld Cup quarter-finals: Four will fall – but who?