Home Sport Cricket Some of the biggest winners at contract time

Some of the biggest winners at contract time


“We have decided to keep the 17th men’s contract open for the moment and players can qualify for it through performance”

South Africas Nadine de Klerk bowls during the ANZ 20/20 series match between the White Ferns and South Africa at the Basin Reserve on Monday the 10th of February 2020. Copyright Photo by Marty Melville / www.Photosport.nz

Beuran Hendricks, Anrich Nortjé, Rassie van der Dussen, Nadine de Klerk and Sinalo Jaftha were the major beneficiaries among this year’s group of players given national contracts for the 2020/21 season by Cricket South Africa yesterday.

Hendricks, was the only player to be granted a national contract for the first time, following a season in which he played a starring role in helping South Africa draw a T20 series against India followed five months later by a maiden Test ‘five-for’ on debut against England at the Wanderers.

De Klerk, who produced an outstanding performance in the T20 World Cup semi-final against Australia in Sydney, earned a contracted upgrade during the course of the season along with Jafta.

Nortjé, Van der Dussen and Dwaine Pretorius also had their contracts upgraded during last season, with Nortjé and Van der Dussen especially, establishing themselves as key players for the Proteas across all three formats.

Perhaps the one player who could count himself unlucky to miss out on a contract this year is Heinrich Klaasen, who was the Man of the Series in the ODIs against Australia recently.

“We have contracted 16 men’s players and 14 women’s players which we feel is the appropriate number to maintain our national squads across the various formats,” Cricket SA interim CEO, Jacques Faul said in a statement. “This enables us to contract both our Test players as well as those who are limited overs specialists.

“We have decided to keep the 17th men’s contract open for the moment and players can qualify for it through performance,” he added.


MEN: Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortjé, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

WOMEN: Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon, Dané van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt.