Home Sport Singh, Tau left out of World Cup qualifiers

Singh, Tau left out of World Cup qualifiers

Luther Singh of South Africa. File Picture: Sydney Mahlangu, BackpagePix

Percy Tau has been left out of Hugo Broos’ latest Bafana squad due to injury, while Luther Singh has been omitted in order to push for a place in the Copenhagen first team after weeks out due to passport problems.

BAFANA Bafana coach Hugo Broos has named three new caps in his final 23-man squad that not does not include star attacker Percy Tau for the upcoming Fifa World Cup qualifiers.

Tau is currently struggling with a hamstring injury and it is understood his club, Egyptian giants Al Alhly, do not want their marquee signing from English Premiership club Brighton Hove and Albion risking any further damage.

Denmark-based striker Luther Singh and Gift Links have also not been included in the national squad. The uncapped duo of Cape Town City’s Terrence Mashego, and Thabani Zuke from Golden Arrows were instead included.

ALSO READ: Bafana can give Ghana headaches, says Broos

Sigh’s situation is precarious at the moment due him not having been able to return to Denmark, where he plays for FC Copenhagen, immediately after Bafana’s last World Cup qualifiers against Zimbabwe and Ghana. The 24-year-old was stuck in South Africa due to passport problems until last week and only just returned to Europe, stalling his opportunity to push for a regular first-team place.

ALSO READ: Ghana win a big boost for Bafana says Broos

Bafana currently head Group G with four points, which included a 1-0 victory over Ghana at FNB Stadium and a draw with Zimbabwe in Harare. They now travel to Addis Ababa to face Ethiopia on Saturday, October 9 before hosting the same opponents for the return leg at FNB Stadium on Tuesday, October 12.

ALSO READ: Broos rebuilding Bafana

Full Bafana Bafana Squad

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (captain), Veli Mothwa, Bruce Bvuma

Defenders: Nyiko Mobbie, Rushine De Reuck, Njabulo Ngcobo, Siyanda Xulu, Mosa Lebusa, Sifiso Hlanti, Terrence Mashego

Midfielders: Mothobi Mavala, Teboho Mokoena, Yusuf Maart, Thabani Zuke, Ethan Brooks, Goodman Mosele

Strikers: Evidence Makgopa, Victor Letsoalo, Thabiso Kutumela, Bongokuhle Hlongwane Vincent Pule, Tshegofatso Mabasa


Previous articleBafana assistant coach denied entry to Pirates match
Next articleAll-conquering Banyana turn focus to fifth COSAFA title