Home Sport Rugby Five-out-of five is step one for Stormers

Five-out-of five is step one for Stormers


“The amount of effort the guys have put in is actually paying off and it’s an incredible feeling”

STORMERS coach John Dobson has made two rotational changes to the tight five for their match against the Blues at Newlands tomorrow (kick-off 3.05pm).

In the front row, Wilco Louw comes in for fellow Bok tighthead Frans Malherbe, who rotates to the bench. With Alistair Vermaak injured, Kwenzo Blose is set to make his Stormers debut if he comes off the bench. At lock, Chris van Zyl returns to the run-on side, with Salmaan Moerat, who started last week, moving to the bench. Among the replacements, Cobus Wiese comes in for Johan du Toit, who drops out of the match day squad.

Earlier this week, coach John Dobson spoke about how “unusual” the Blues can be, saying that figuring out the likes of the Hurricanes and the Jaguares’ shapes is easy – both opponents the Stormers have beaten in 2020 – as opposed to the Blues’. He also spoke about how they can be physical yet off the cuff as well, while he also hinted that he’s expecting a niggly affair.

And that’s going to be a factor.

At the team announcement press conference yesterday, captain Steven Kitshoff said that making it five wins in a row would be the first step in moving closer to the goals they’ve set out for themselves this season.

“The amount of effort the guys have put in is actually paying off and it’s an incredible feeling. T

“hese first five games are phase one and making it five out of five would be the first step in achieving our goal,” Kitshoff said.

With the Blues being more than capable of being disruptive, composure is going to be key.

Stormers (15-1): Dillyn Leyds, Sergeal Petersen, Ruhan Nel, Jamie Roberts, Seabelo Senatla, Damian Willemse, Herschel Jantjies, Juarno Augustus, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Jaco Coetzee, JD Schickerling, Chris van Zyl, Wilco Louw, Scarra Ntubeni, Steven Kitshoff (capt). Bench: Chad Solomon, Kwenzo Blose (Stormers debut), Frans Malherbe, Salmaan Moerat, Cobus Wiese, Ernst van Rhyn, Godlen Masimla, Jean-Luc du Plessis.

Previous articleNyakane is excited to lead Bulls’ stampede against the Jaguares
Next articleIn search of pancakes past