Home Sport Plenty of spice in this Currie Cup

Plenty of spice in this Currie Cup


For the hosts, it is a chance to win the Currie Cup for the first time since 1970, while their visitors have never even been to the final.

STOPPED IN HIS TRACKS: Griqua captain AJ Coertzen runs into the solid Pumas defence during a game at the then Tafel Lager Park. File Picture: Dave Alexander

SATURDAY’S Currie Cup final between Griquas and the Pumas in Kimberley at 3pm, will be a historic one.

For the hosts, it is a chance to win the Currie Cup for the first time since 1970, while their visitors have never even been to the final.

The magnificence of the moment is not lost on Griquas coach Pieter Bergh, who says: “For so many years, Griquas have talked about 1970. I have been involved with Griquas as an assistant coach from 2012 to 2018, and every year in that time, we never made a semifinal, with good teams, very good Griquas teams.

“There was always the talk of winning the Currie Cup, and talking about 1970 …”

Griquas also have extra motivation in that they are playing for famous fan Oom Bushy, Eric Oliver, who died last year at the age of 88 and the reported attendance of 1970 legend Mannetjies Roux.

But out to spoil their party will be Jimmy Stonehouse’s katte from Mpumalanga. Of the occasion, coach Stonehouse says: “It’s amazing that everything worked out for us …

“We are losing 10 players at the end of the season and the Griquas are also losing players. But where are they going? They are going to the United Rugby Championship (URC), and you bred them here at the Currie Cup.

“It’s going to be great in Kimberley on Saturday – we owe Griquas one and we are looking forward to the final, it’s going to be an amazing occasion.”

The last time the two sides clashed, it was Griquas who won the match 45-44 earlier this month in Nelspruit, with the men from Kimberley also winning their home match earlier in the season 41-20.

Griquas (15-1): George Whitehead, Munier Hartzenberg, Sango Xamlashe (captain), Rynhardt Jonker, Luther Obi, Zander du Plessis, Stefan Ungerer, Siba Qoma, Hanru Sirgel, Werner Gouws, Derik Pretorius, Cameron Lindsay, Janu Botha, Janco Uys, Kudzwai Dube. Bench (16-26): Simon Westraadt, Eddie Davids, Andries Schutte, Johan Retief, Michael Amiras, Johan Mulder, Fiela Boshoff, Chris Hollis, Gustav du Rand, Luyolo Dapula, Raegan Oranje.

Pumas (15-1): Devon Williams, Tapiwa Mafura, Sebastian de Klerk, Eddie Fouche, Jade Stighling, Tinus de Beer, Chriswill September, André Fouche, Willie Engelbrecht (captain), Daniel Maartens, Shane Kirkwood, Deon Slabbert, IG Prinsloo, Eduan Swart, Corné Fourie. Bench (16-23): Llewellyn Classen, Dewald Maritz, Simon Raw, Kwanda Dimaza, Francois Kleinhans, Giovan Snyman, Ali Mgijima, Alwayno Visagie.

Previous articleFinally … full capacity crowds allowed at SA stadiums once more
Next articleNo ranking points on offer at Wimbledon