Home Sport New caps Klaasen, Jonker and Dala named in SA’s T20 squad

New caps Klaasen, Jonker and Dala named in SA’s T20 squad


JP Duminy has been named as captain in the continued absence through injury of Faf du Plessis

Wiketkeepr-batsman Heinrich Klaasen will get another run in the Proteas strip after he was selected in the Standard Bank Proteas T20 squad for the series against India later this month.

CRICKET South Africa (CSA) yesterday named Warriors batsman Christiaan Jonker and the Multiply Titans duo of fast bowler Junior Dala and wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen (pictured) as new caps in the Standard Bank Proteas squad for the three-match KFC T20 International Series against India later this month.

JP Duminy has been named as captain in the continued absence through injury of Faf du Plessis.

“With the Sunfoil Test Series against Australia starting only five days after the completion of the T20 Series it is necessary for us to rest some of the players who have featured in virtually all our international matches so far this summer,” commented CSA National Selection Panel Convener Linda Zondi.

“These include Hashim Amla and Aiden Markram among the batsmen as well as most of our frontline fast bowlers. AB de Villiers has missed quite a lot of cricket this summer so he will play in the T20 Series.

“We have also decided to give Imran Tahir a break. He remains our first-choice spin bowler in both white ball formats,” explained Zondi, “but we need to give more game time to Tabraiz Shamsi and Aaron Phangiso. “Christiaan Jonker has been one of the most explosive finishers in domestic T20 cricket in recent seasons and his selection, together with that of Junior Dala, gives players who have performed well at franchise level the opportunity to show that they can compete at the highest level. Heinrich Klaasen’s recent performance speaks for itself.

“Reeza Hendricks gets another opportunity for the same reason, having been the highest runs scorer in this season’s RamSlam Challenge.”

The selectors have also named the South Africa A squad for the tour match against Australia to be played at Sahara Park Willowmoore from February 22 to 24.

Khaya Zondo will captain the squad while the WSB Cape Cobras duo of Pieter Malan and Zubayr Hamza and Hollywoodbets Dolphins all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy have been chosen at this level for the first time.

“With no franchise cricket scheduled for that weekend it gives another group of fringe players an ideal opportunity to show what they have to offer against top quality opposition,” concluded Zondo.

Standard Bank Proteas T20 squad

JP Duminy (Cobras, capt), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Junior Dala (Titans), AB de Villiers (Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Lions), Christiaan Jonker (Warriors), Heinrich Klaasen (Titans), David Miller (VKB Knights), Chris Morris (Titans), Dane Paterson (Cobras), Aaron Phangiso (Lions), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Jon-Jon Smuts (Warriors).

South Africa A squad

Khayalihle Zondo (Dolphins, capt), Theunis de Bruyn (Knights), Zubayr Hamza (Cobras), Beuran Hendricks (Lions), Pieter Malan (Cobras), Wiaan Mulder (Lions), Senuran Muthusamy (Dolphins), Duanne Olivier (Knights), Rudi Second (Knights), Malusi Siboto (Titans), Shaun von Berg (Titans).

KFC T20 I Series vs India

February 18: Day 2.30pm 1st T20 Wanderers,

February 21: D/N 6pm 2nd T20 Centurion

February 24: D/N 6pm 3rd T20 Newlands