Home Sport Cricket NCC wary of potential banana skin against Border

NCC wary of potential banana skin against Border


A few of the NCC batsman hit a purple patch against North West.

Northern Cape Cricket (NCC) will be hosting Border at the Diamond Oval in the CSA Provincial Three-Day Cup match starting tomorrow, followed by the CSA Provincial One-Day Challenge fixture on Sunday.

NCC had a good outing against North West in Potchefstroom last weekend where they won both the three-day cup match – by an innings and 99 runs – as well as the One-day Challenge fixture by eight wickets.

As a result, the Kimberley team find themselves sitting in second place on the three-day Pool B log where they are nipping at the heels of Northerns, but NCC (18 points), with four wins from four games, are way on top of the One-day Cup log with a healthy seven-point lead over second-placed Northerns (11).

NCC’s head coach JP Triegaardt spoke to the DFA about last weekend’s two victories and said that if the team continues to execute their normal skills they should do well. “It was a great team effort that produced the results and they executed their normal skills well, which I hope they will continue to do against Border,” the coach said.

A few of the NCC batsman hit a purple patch against North West. Ernest Kemm, Jacques Snyman, Obus Pienaar, Aubrey Swanepoel and Garnett Tarr, showed some great form, while bowlers, Beyers Swanepoel, Desmond de Koker and Luvuyo Adam gave of their best.

Despite some strong recent performances NCC cannot afford to be complacent. Though Border are languishing at the bottom of the Pool B log without a win in the three-day competition, and with only a single win in the one-dayer it goes without saying that the Eastern Cape boys will be going all out to secure a win in the dry heat of the Northern Cape.

NCC squad: Ernest Kemm, Beyers Swanepoel, Jacques Snyman, Aubrey Swanepoel (captain), Desmond de Koker, Keegan Petersen (wicket-keeper), Patrick Kruger, Grant Mokoena, Obus Pienaar, Luvuyo Adam, Kagisho Mohale, Nangamso Mqaleni, Blake Schraader, Ottniel Baartman. Management: JP Triegaardt (coach), Deon Carolus (assistant coach)

The matchday teams will be finalised before the start of play.

Previous articleMates all around
Next articleBoundary countback rule is ‘not cricket’, says Kane