Home Sport Soccer Motherwells wrap up their 2019 in style

Motherwells wrap up their 2019 in style


Players, officials honoured.

Colville-based Motherwells FC held their annual year-end presentation at the Golden Show hall in Colville to thank the many supportive members of the communities and their families as well as the team’s corporate sponsors.

The event was attended by high officials of the Sol Plaatje Local Football Association such as its secretary George Burgess, and Thabo Namisa who is the chairman of the junior development board.

At the event were many founder members of the team formed in 1965 such as Oom Ben Smith and William Bennet. These founders handed over the baton to a newer generation which included Pastor Desmond Smith and his brother Tony Smith and a few others.

The guest speaker at the event was Burning Leaves FC manager Rainn Kujane as was former William Pescod FC player Eric Wilkinson and Liston Browers of Colville United.

Among those being honoured at the event was Ricardo Engelbrecht who received a trophy and certificate as the “Best Goalkeeper” for the Under-11 team. The “Top Goalscorer” award went to Recha Naidoo who was honoured for having scored 24 goals for his side during the season.

Keran Davis received the “Top Goalscorer” award for the Under-15 team for scoring 50 goals in the season.

In the Under-17 category, Ethan Swarts and Sidney America got the joint trophy for 25 goals scored apiece.

The team’s successes were highlighted for 2019 by team manager Tony Smit who credited the co-operation of the founder members and the players as well as supportive community members.

Among those in the honoree’s line-up were the Under-11 and 13 squads who ended the season as runners-up in the Sol Plaatje Junior League where they collected silver medals each. The Under-15 and 17 squads were honoured for winning the age league in 2019.

Giddy van Rooyen

Previous articleSundowns will take the win
Next articleOn the warpath