Home Sport Larson going for two out of two

Larson going for two out of two


Larsen won his maiden triumph as coach back in 2012 when he was still at Bloemfontein Celtic

File image

Clinton Larsen is targeting his second Telkom Knockout triumph with Lamontville Golden Arrows this time around having won the same knockout competition with Bloemfontein Celtic in 2012.

The Wentworth born tactian will welcome Baroka FC at home in the first round of the this year’s TKO.

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) will release proper date and venues in due course.

Larsen won his maiden triumph as coach back in 2012 when he was still at Bloemfontein Celtic.

His first piece silverware happened to be the TKO. He won it at the expense of Mamelodi Sundowns at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Larsen wants to go as far as possible in this year’s edition of the TKO.

“Every small team are always looking forward to cup competitions. We are also a small team. We will try and have a good run and see if we can have the silverware,” optimistic Larsen explained.

Arrows haven’t won the cup since breaking their duck in an emphatic fashion in 2009 when they hammered Ajax Cape Town 6-0 to lift the MTN8 crown at Orlando Stadium in Soweto.

They came close in 2017 reaching the semi finals of the Nedbank Cup but succumbed to a 1-0 defeat against Orlando Pirates at Princess Magogo Stadium in KwaMashu.

“The chances of us doing a Leicester City (who shocked the masses in 2015/16 to win the English Premier League after almost getting relegated in 2014/15) are almost impossible in the PSL with the strength of the big four (Mamelodi Sundowns, Bidvest Wits, Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs). We will always be gunning for the cup. This cup is only the 16th Premier League teams. Sometimes if the draw favours you, you get a little of luck along the way, ending up in the semi final or in the final. Hopefully we will try and achieve that this season,” he added.

Abafana Bes’thende are the only side from KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) under the PSL era to lift the knockout competition. Manning Rangers won the inaugural league championship in 1996/97.

They also lost against Moroka Swallows 3-1 in the final of the ABSA Cup in 2004.

Arrows lifted the MTN8 in 2009 and AmaZulu were dispatched by Bidvest Wits in the final of the Nedbank Cup in 2010.

Last season, Maritzburg United went all the way to the final of the Nedbank Cup but stumbled at the last hurdle as they lost 1-0 to Free State Stars.