Home Sport KGC to host prestigious event

KGC to host prestigious event


Fourteen teams will be participating in the Golf South Africa (GolfRSA) and the South African Golfers Association (SAGA) event

File image

EIGHT players will represent the Northern Cape at the annual Mid-Amateur Interprovincial Tournament to be played at the Kimberley Golf Club from October 7.

The Kimberley Golf Club representatives include Andries Kori, Nico Jacobs, Basil Nortje, Deon Kruis, Frans Smith and Geoffrey van der Merwe, while Allan Toy and Boete Nasie from Sishen Golf Club make up the rest of the Northern Cape Team.

Fourteen teams will be participating in the Golf South Africa (GolfRSA) and the South African Golfers Association (SAGA) event.

This is only the third time that the Kimberley Golf Club will be hosting this event since its inception 26 years ago. “We had the honour of hosting the event in 1992, 2003 and 2005. So this is a real privilege for the club. This tournament also marks the first interprovincial to be hosted by the fledgling Northern Cape Golf Union (NCGU),” Dave Wilson said.

During the tournament the course will be closed for play, although spectators are welcome.

The tournament will be split into two divisions, A and B and the format on each day will be foursomes in the morning and singles in the afternoon.


Meanwhile, Allan Meyers and Allen Grootboom returned 48 betterball points to win the Saturday William Pescod High School Golf Day. Buck Venter and Pierre Fourie were the runners up on 47 points. A count out on 46 points placed Andries Kori and Ronnie Engelbrecht third, the former carding an impressive six under gross 66 (32, 34).

The format for Friday’s Annual SAICA Corporate Golf Day was a fourball alliance two scores to count, the top six coveys receiving due recognition. Just one point ahead of the field, on 91 points, was the covey Andries Markgraaff, Daan Liversage, Edrich Lubbe and Wian Steynberg.

Two six pointers and a margin of luck gave Dave Wilson 27 points for a narrow win in the Thursday KWV Powerplay Niner. Two players followed on 26 points. The count out deemed Bennie Andrews second and Herbie Woodbridge third. Both players also each returned two six pointers.

Outside of the prize winners Wedge Crozier and Evan Painting each returned an eight pointer while Victor Motaung, Parks Mashabao, Kevin Wakeford, Peter Jansen, Nico Ross, Machiel Cronje and Johnny Cloete added six pointers.

Willie Delport posted 37 individual stableford points to win the Wednesday Leon’s House of Liquor IPS. Attie van Niekerk and Lennie Allen were second and third, each on 36 points.