Home Sport Soccer Jingles is by no means a shoe-in

Jingles is by no means a shoe-in


Pitso Mosimane is on course to add yet another accolade to his long list of achievements.

SUNDOWNS coach Pitso Mosimane with his league winners medal.

PITSO Mosimane is on course to add yet another accolade to his long list of achievements.

The Mamelodi Sundowns coach delivered the Brazilians’ ninth Premier Soccer League (PSL) title triumph this past weekend, his fourth during his six years at the club.

The success, earned courtesy of a 1-0 win over a Free State Stars side that got relegated, saw him tie with Gordon Igesund, the late Ted Dumitru and Gavin Hunt on the list of the most successful coaches in the history of the PSL. His success though, is made all the more special by the fact that Mosimane is the only one of the quartert to win the championship multiple times with one club.

Yesterday Jingles was announced as one of the three nominees for the Coach of the Season award. He is in competition with Orlando Pirates’ Micho Sredojevic and Benni McCarthy of Cape Town City.

Given the fact that he won the championship in a season that saw him lead Sundowns to the Caf Champions League finals, Mosimane should surely be the favourite to win the gong he has previously won on four occasions.

He won three with Sundowns and the other one when he was at SuperSport United and back then he had not led Matsatsantsa to the league title.

It is for that reason that it is not a foregone conclusion that Pitso will be the one smiling big at Durban’s International Convention Centre on Sunday.

While he defended the title, the fact that Pirates’ Serbian mentor pushed him all the way to the last match of the season makes Sredojevic a serious contender.

Sredojevic has transformed the Buccanneers since taking over the coaching reins. Last season he also led Pirates to second spot and this time around Mosimane beat him by just two points.

The fact that Pirates also reached the Telkom Knockout final where they lost to Baroka speaks to Micho having had a splendid season that makes him worthy of the nomination.

McCarthy, for his part, continues to impress – the former Bafana Bafana striker punching way above the weight of a coach only in his second season in charge.

He got City to finish in fourth spot, a position’s improvement from last season’s fifth placing and many have highlighted the fact that he did so despite two of his key players in Thabo Nodada and Ronald Pustche missing a good number of matches due to injuries. Add to that the fact McCarthy also won the MTN8 title and you have a pretty tough call to make on who the coach of the season should be.

Many will, no doubt, bet on Mosimane reigning supreme.

PSL nominees

Defender of Season: Ricardo Nascimeto, Thamsanqa Mkhize and Sifiso Hlanti.

Midfielder of the Season: Hlompo Kekana, Thembinkosi Lorch and Themba Zwane.

Player’s Player of the Season: Hlompo Kekana, Thembinkosi Lorch and Themba Zwane

Footballer of the Season: Hlompo Kekana, Thembinkosi Lorch and Themba Zwane.

Coach of the Season: Pitso Mosimane, Benni McCarthy and Milutin Sredojevic.

MTN8 lastman standing: Bradley Grobler, Thabo Nodada and Peter Leeuwenburg.

Telkom KO Player of the Tournament: Elvis Chipezeze, Mduduzi Mdantsane and Thembinkosi Lorch.

Nedbank Cup most Promising Player: Zakhele Lepasa, Terrence Mashego and Siphesakhe Ntiyantiya.

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Khama Billiat, Bernard Parker and Zakhele Lepasa.

Diski Challenge Most Precious find: Njabulo Blom, Sipho Chaine and Kamogelo Mahlatsi.

Diski Challenge Player of the Season: Lindani Ndelu, Kamogelo Mahlasela and Siboniso Conco.