Home Sport How the teams fared in Australia yesterday

How the teams fared in Australia yesterday


Our team by team breakdown of the result at the Australian Grand Prix (teams listed in championship order)

Ferrari driver Sebastian Vettel of Germany kisses his trophy after winning the first race of the season at the Australian Formula One Grand Prix in Melbourne, Sunday, March 25, 2018. Picture: AP Photo/Rick Rycroft

Our team by team breakdown of the result at the Australian Grand Prix (teams listed in championship order):


Sebastian Vettel 1

Kimi Raikkonen 3

Vettel won in Melbourne for the second year in a row and third time in total. The German had the virtual safety car to thank for allowing him to pit and stay ahead. The podium was his 100th, making Vettel only the fourth driver to reach that milestone, and the win his 48th.

Raikkonen, who started in second place with Vettel third, now has 92 podiums to his credit.


Lewis Hamilton 2

Valtteri Bottas 8

Hamilton led from pole (his 73rd and record seventh in Australia) but lost out to Vettel, who stayed out after the Briton and Raikkonen had pitted and was rewarded by the virtual safety car being deployed just as he was about to come in. Bottas started 15th after crashing in qualifying.


Daniel Ricciardo 4

Max Verstappen 6

Ricciardo started eighth after a three place grid drop and moved up thanks to the two Haas cars retiring and Verstappen suffering a 360 degree spin on lap 10. The Australian still missed out on an elusive home podium.

Verstappen started fourth but lost a position at the start to Magnussen. He said something broke on the car, causing the spin.


Fernando Alonso 5

Stoffel Vandoorne 9

Alonso, who started 10th, equalled McLaren’s highest finish from their three dismal years with Honda in the team’s debut with Renault power.

The double points finish represents McLaren’s best start to a season since 2014.


Nico Hulkenberg 7

Carlos Sainz 10

A solid start for Renault but still behind their two customer teams. Hulkenberg started seventh while Sainz was ninth on the grid.

The Spaniard struggled with a problem with his drinks bottle, which left him feeling sick.


Sergio Perez 11

Esteban Ocon 12

No points for Force India, who had Perez chasing Sainz at the end. The team, fourth overall last year, are hoping for a step up at the next race in Bahrain, with new parts to come. Ocon passed Stroll at the start and then battled with Bottas.


Charles Leclerc 13

Marcus Ericsson retired

Formula Two champion Leclerc made his debut and chalked up a first finish. Ericsson, who has not scored a point since 2015, retired on lap six with a hydraulic issue.


Lance Stroll 14

Sergey Sirotkin retired

Debutant Sirotkin was the first retirement, pulling over on lap four with a rear brake failure that may have been caused by a stray plastic bag that blocked the cooling.

Stroll started 13th, his car was in the wrong mode on the opening lap and he then lost out to Leclerc after the safety car re-start.


Brendon Hartley 15

Pierre Gasly retired

Hartley made an early pit stop after flat-spotting the tyres into turn one at the start. He then had a puncture on the second stint. Gasly retired with a power unit failure, the first after a trouble-free testing with new partners Honda.


Romain Grosjean retired

Kevin Magnussen retired

What had looked like bringing a points bonanza for the US-owned team, who qualified fifth and sixth, ended in bitter disappointment, with both cars retiring after being released from pit stops with loose left side wheels. The team were fined 10 000 ($12 000) for the breach.

Magnussen had been fourth at the end of the first lap, Grosjean fifth.