Home Sport Soccer Foster boost for Amajita

Foster boost for Amajita


Coach warned of too much chopping and changing.

Lyle Foster in action for South Africa during the 2019 CAF Olympic Qualifier match against Angola at Bidvest Milpark Stadium. Photo: Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

As pleasing as it is that Lyle Foster made the national Under-20 squad for the Fifa World Cup starting in Poland next week, coach Thabo Senong should be vigilant of too much chopping and changing.

Foster brings attacking prowess to Amajita for Group F matches against Portugal, South Korea and Argentina.

AS Monaco reserve team talisman Foster has been an integral part of Senong’s team before, but the former Orlando Pirates striker missed the Africa Youth Championship (AYC) and World Cup preparation matches this year, meaning he’ll have to prove his worth before being entrusted to lead the front line.

At the AYC In Niger, Amajita struggled up front without Foster, who wasn’t released by Monaco as the tournament was outside Fifa dates – they scored their two goals in five matches from set-pieces, despite finishing third.

Thabiso Monyane struggled in Niger but produced the goods in the preparation matches.

Attacking duo Khanya Leshabela and Kobamelo Kodisang, the only two overseas players to make Senong’s AYC squad, are at the top of the list for the World Cup as Amajita seek to erase the memory of the last edition of the tournament two years ago when they finished bottom of their group.

Despite mixed results in the warm-up matches, Senong will be confident of at least equaling Amajita’s run in the 2009 World Cup, where they reached the knockout stages. This is the first time an Amajita coach has qualified for back-to-back World Cup tournaments, so improvement is expected.

World Cup squad

Goalkeepers: Khulekani Kubheka, Kopano Thuntsane and Glen Baadjie

Defenders: Thabo Moloisane, Molebogo Modise, Keenan Abrahams, Givemore Khupe, Keenan Phillips, Fezile Gcaba and Sbusiso Mabiliso

Midfielders: Siphesihle Mkhize, Promise Mkhuma, Oswin Appollis, Luke le Roux, Njabulo Blom, Luvuyo Phewa and Kobamelo Kodisang

Forwards: Leo Thethani, James Monyane, Lyle Foster and Thakgalo Leshabela