Home Sport Dane the top wicket-taker at WWC

Dane the top wicket-taker at WWC


Three South African's make ICC team

TOP OF THE HEAP: South Africas Dane Van Niekerk (centre) celebrates the taking of the wicket of Shanel Daley, who was caught by Laura Wolvaardt. It all happened during the Womens Cricket World Cup, South Africa versus West Indies, in Leicester, England, recently.

Three South Africans – Laura Wolvaardt, captain Dane van Niekerk, Marizanne Kaap – were named in the Team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 announced by the ICC yesterday.

India’s Mithali Raj was named as its captain. The 34-year-old from Hyderabad in southern India, was selected as captain after she led her side by example by scoring 409 runs in the 30-day tournament, which inspired India to reach only its second final, first in 12 years, where it lost to England by nine runs in one of the most thrilling finals in front of a packed to capacity Lord’s.

The side includes four players from England, including player of the tournament Tamsin Beaumont, player of the final Anya Shrubsole, wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor and left-arm spinner Alex Hartley, Harmanpreet Kaur and Deepti Sharma along with Raj from India and Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry.

England’s Natalie Sciver, who scored 369 runs and took seven wickets, was chosen as the 12th player.

South Africa captain Van Niekerk (pictured) finished as the leading wicket-taker in the tournament. While England beat India by nine runs to claim the World Cup title on Sunday at Lord’s, it was the performance of legspinner Van Niekerk who claimed 15 wickets at an astounding average of 10 which really stood out. – ANA

Team of the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 (in batting order):

Tamsin Beaumont (Eng) – 410 runs

Laura Wolvaardt (SA) – 324 runs

Mithali Raj (captain) (India) – 409 runs

Ellyse Perry (Aus) – 404 runs / 9 wkts

Sarah Taylor (w/k (Eng) – 396 runs, four catches and two stumpings

Harmanpreet Kaur (India) – 359 runs / 5 wkts

Deepti Sharma (India) – 216 runs / 12 wkts

Marizanne Kapp (SA) – 13 wkts

Dane van Niekerk (SA) – 99 runs / 15 wkts

Anya Shrubsole (Eng) – 12 wkts

Alex Hartley (Eng) – 10 wkts

Natalie Sciver (12th Player) (Eng) – 369 runs / 7 wkts.