Home Sport Cricket Maiden call up for Tristan Stubbs with Wayne Parnell recalled for T20...

Maiden call up for Tristan Stubbs with Wayne Parnell recalled for T20 series against India


Tristan Stubbs has received his maiden Proteas call-up ahead of the highly anticipated contest. Wayne Parnell makes a return to the T20 set up for the first time since 2017.

Tristan Stubbs got a maiden Proteas call-up for their T20 series against India. Picture: Gavin Barker, BackpagePix

Johannesburg – Tristan Stubbs is the most notable addition to a powerful South African T20 squad that will head to India next month for a five match series.

The 21-year-old, from Knysna, scored 293 runs for the Warriors in the domestic T20 Challenge last season, to stake a claim for a national call up. His runs came at an average of 48.83 and most notably a strike rate of 183.12.

It drew the attention of the Mumbai Indians in the IPL, wgho signed him to a short term contract after Tymal Mills, from England had to withdraw from the competition with an injury.

Stubbs will battle it out for a spot in the Proteas middle order along with David Miller, who has recently found form for the Gujarat Titans in the IPL.

South Africa’s selectors, with an eye on the T20 World Cup in Australia later this year, picked a powerful squad that sees the return of fast bowling ace Anrich Nortjé, who missed most of last season with a back and hip problem. He’s been back playing for Delhi Capitals in the IPL, and has shown hints of his best form.

“This is the Proteas like we have not seen them in a long time,” commented CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang.

“The injection of the IPL players means that we will have a team that’s ready to fire on all cylinders immediately and has vast experience of the conditions that we will be playing in.

The Proteas will face India in five T20 Internationals, the first of which will be hosted in Delhi on June 9.

Proteas T20 squad vs India

Temba Bavuma (capt), Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortjé, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs, Rassie van der Dussen, Marco Jansen.

1st T20I – Delhi, June 9

2nd T20I – Cuttack, June 12

3rd T20I – Visakhapatnam, June 14

4th T20I – Rajkot, June 17

5th T20I – Bangalore, June 19

Previous articleMatie urination victim does U-turn on laying charges
Next articleSA football: Five big things from the weekend