Home Sport Broos names three Chiefs players in preliminary Bafana squad

Broos names three Chiefs players in preliminary Bafana squad


Bafana Bafana head coach Hugo Broos has named three Kaizer Chiefs players in his preliminary squad for two friendlies next month.

Bafana Bafana head coach Hugo Broos. File picture: BackpagePix

FORMER Kaizer Chiefs midfielder Njabulo Blom has been included in the 36-member Bafana Bafana preliminary squad for the international friendly matches against Eswatini and Côte d’Ivoire next month.

Blom missed out on the selection for the last squad because national coach Hugo Broos felt he wasn’t playing regularly for his US club St Louis City. While Broos was pondering his selections on Saturday, Blom produced a stellar performance for his club and capped it with the match-winning goal. He was named Man of the Match for his impressive performance for his Major League Soccer (MLS) side which is coached by former Bafana Bafana defender Bradley Carnell.

Interestingly, Blom played against his Bafana teammate Bongokuhle Hlongwane, who played as a wide attacking midfielder in the Minnesota United side. Hlongwane was also named in the preliminary squad, which will be trimmed to 23 players next week when Broos announces his final list for the two matches.

Bafana will play Eswatini on October 13 at a venue still to be confirmed. The next day, the squad will travel to West Africa to face next year’s Africa Cup of Nations hosts Côte d’Ivoire on October 17.

These matches are part of the coach’s preparations for the Africa Cup of Nations in January next year and for the 2026 Fifa World Cup qualifiers in November.

The preliminary squad includes Kaizer Chiefs players Mduduzi Mdantsane, Pule Mmodi and Sibongiseni Mthethwa, who recently signed from Stellenbosch FC.

The players will report for camp in Johannesburg on October 8.


Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams, Veli Mothwa, Ricardo Goss, Sipho Chaine.

Defenders: Sydney Mobbie, Grant Kekana, Nkosinathi Sibisi, Aubrey Modiba, Thapelo Maseko, Mothobi Mvala, Siyanda Xulu, Given Msimango, Innocent Maela, Ime Okon, Thapelo Morena, Khuliso Mudau, Tapelo Xoki.

Midfielders: Njabulo Blom, Teboho Mokoena, Grant Margeman, Bathusi Aubaas, Sphephelo Sithole, Mlungisi Mbunjane, Sibongiseni Mthethwa, Luke Le Roux.

Forwards: Mihlali Mayambela, Pule Mmodi, Percy Tau, Zakhele Lepasa, Lyle Foster, Lebo Mothiba, Monnapule Saleng, Bongokuhle Hlongwane, Khanyisa Mayo, Mduduzi Mdantsane, Themba Zwane.

Previous articlePirates reach MTN8 final on away goals after stumbling against Stellies
Next articleScotland keep World Cup hopes alive with bonus point win over Tonga