Home Sport All you need to know about the Brazilian Grand Prix

All you need to know about the Brazilian Grand Prix


Who holds the edge in Brazil? You decide.

Though there is nothing but pride left to fight for, this does not mean that it will be dull in Sao Paulo. Picture: AP Photo / Eric Gay

Statistics for Sunday’s Brazilian Grand Prix

(round 19 of 20)

Lap distance: 4.309km. Total distance: 305.909km (71 laps)

2016 pole: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes. One minute 10.736 seconds

2016 winner: Hamilton

Race lap record: Juan Pablo Montoya (Colombia) Williams 1:11.473 (2004)


Lewis Hamilton has 62 victories from 206 races and is second in the all-time list behind Michael Schumacher (91). Sebastian Vettel has 46. Mercedes have won 11 of 18 races this season. Ferrari have won 228 races since 1950, McLaren 182, Williams 114, Mercedes 75 and Red Bull 55. Former champions McLaren and Williams have not won since 2012. Hamilton has won nine times this season, Vettel four. Valtteri Bottas and Max Verstappen two each and Daniel Ricciardo once.


Hamilton has an all-time record 72 career poles. Mercedes have been on pole 13 times in 18 races: Hamilton 11 times and Bottas twice. Vettel has had four poles this season and his Ferrari teammate Kimi Raikkonen one.


Hamilton has 116 podiums and is second on the all-time list behind Schumacher (155). Vettel has 97, Raikkonen 90. Hamilton has 12 podiums this season, Vettel and Bottas 11 each.


Hamilton is an unassailable 56 points clear of Vettel with two races left.

Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson is the only driver yet to score this season of those who have started every race. Hamilton has 23 scoring finishes in a row, the longest such run of his career. Raikkonen holds the record of 27. Hamilton and Force India’s Esteban Ocon are the only drivers to have finished every race so far.


Felipe Massa is the last Brazilian to have won his home Grand Prix. He has not won since his 2008 success and is now the only Brazilian on the grid. Four of the current drivers have won in Brazil: Massa (2008, 2006), Vettel (2010, 2013), Raikkonen (2007), Hamilton (2016). Brazil has been on the calendar since 1973, starting at Interlagos before moving to Rio de Janeiro and then returning to Sao Paulo. The circuit is named after the late Jose Carlos Pace.


Massa will be competing in his last home Grand Prix before retiring at the end of the season.