Home News Lights to go out at municipalities

Lights to go out at municipalities


No more mercy, Eskom will cut power

Eskom has given these municipalities notice that power will be cut at certain times of the day.

ESKOM will disconnect the electricity supply to six municipalities in the Northern Cape next week, as they have defaulted on payment agreements.

It stated that as from September 18 the bulk supply of power would be suspended at Kai Garib, Siyathemba, Siyancuma, Renosterberg, Tsantsabane and Thembelihle municipalities.

The electricity cut-offs will take place from 6am until 8am and again from 5pm until 7.30pm during the week.

Over weekends, the power will be cut from 8.30am until 11am and in the evenings from 3pm until 5.30pm.

The parastatal warned that it may, upon 15 calendar days’ notice, disconnect the electricity supply “entirely and indefinitely” should the electricity debt situation not improve.


According to the notice, Eskom has considered all written representations, comments and submissions received, as well as the implications it would have for paying customers and health-related issues.

It advised that all those who were likely to be adversely affected, to take the necessary precautions to ensure the safety of lives and to limit damages to their equipment, operations and business.