Home News ANC mourns 5 crash victims

ANC mourns 5 crash victims


“The families have been contacted and the deceased were identified”

File image.

THE FIVE ANC members from the John Taolo Gaetsewe region who died in an accident on the N14, close to Kathu, on Saturday night, have been identified.

The police yesterday identified the deceased as Morongwe Mecwi, 68, Monica Morongwe, 50, Victoria Medupe, 51, Elizabeth Ruiter, 76, and Selina Malgas, 73.

“The families have been contacted and the deceased were identified,” police spokesperson, Captain Sergio Kock, said yesterday.

Two of the injured passengers were transferred from Kuruman to Kimberley and are still receiving medical treatment.

ANC provincial secretary, Deshi Ngxanga, said yesterday that it was with deep regret that the ANC in the Northern Cape had learnt of the death of five of its members in the John Taolo Gaetsewe region.

Ngxanga said it was believed that the members were travelling from Lohatlha where they were attending a CPA meeting when they were involved in a car accident on Saturday afternoon just 10km outside of Kathu.

He added that eight of the passengers who survived the accident had been released from hospital.

“The ANC in the Province sends it’s heartfelt condolences to the family and friends of those who passed on and wishes those who are recovering at home and in hospital a speedy recovery,” Ngxanga said.

According to Kock, five people died and several others were injured when the taxi in which they were travelling rolled several times following a burst tyre. Four women died at the scene and another one died hours later in the Kuruman hospital. Eleven others were injured.